top of page

Script, Act 4: Scene 2

Act 2 Scene 4

Lady Macduff and her Daughter are sitting down together as Ruth enters

Daphne(aside): Max has left us, without any reason why. Why he would leave us? What would have upset him so much that it would cause him to abandon his only daughter and wife.

Ruth comes to sit with Daphne

Ruth: I couldn’t say, be patient. Give it sometime, I’m sure everything will make sense in the end.

Daphne: Patient? How can anyone be patient in situation like this. He hurt and betrayed me, I hope I never see him again.

Ruth: Well I guess then we’ll never know why he left, if you refuse to see him again.

Daphne: What possible reason could haae have to justify leaving his wife and his kid? He clearly doesn’t love me, I’d be surprised if he ever did. After all those promises of change, he has betrayed me again, damaged my trust once more.

Ruth: You’re my best friend and I love about you, but you need to calm down. Ultimately Your husband Max has always had good judgement. If he left it was because he had reason to leave. It’ll all be fine, just give it time. I’ll come over later. As much as I’d love to stay, it is important to not draw excessive attention to yourself and your family right now.

Ruth leaves. Conversation between Lady Mc and Daughter

Daphine: I have some horrible news. Your dad has left us, I have no idea what to do now. I’m so sorry.

Daughter: What??? Oh god, let me run away. I want to be emancipated, I want no reminder of this sorry excuse of a family. I’m going to run away. I’m going to live like the birds, just using whatever I already have. Ideas are wings to carry me away from this horribleness. Flying me away to a place where this will no longer plague me as my fault.

Daphine: You wouldn’t survive as a bird sweetie, flapping your colorful wings, you would be too afraid of nets and traps and the reality of the outside world. You're too fragile, especially after this event that is tearing our family apart.

Daughter: Why would I be scared? I was poor, but now I’m fatherless. I have no appeal and none of the hunters will want me.

Daphne: Stop talking about the birds, and talk to me! Please! what do you think about your father has done? Are you okay?

Daughter: He’s not dead.That’s all I know for sure. Why are you so upset? Was he a traitor? Did he cheat?

Daphne: Yes, but not in the traditional sense. He broke his promise to me, and broke my trust. I’m left alone and broken-hearted. He left both of us without saying anything at all, even though he said he would always be there for us.

Daughter: Will he punished?

Daphne: Hopefully yes, by honest and truthful men.

Daughter: I don't believe you, I know dad isn’t dead. You would cry forever if he were, I don't believe you.You’re lying. But until we figure this out, For now, we are alone together.

Messenger enters and approaches Lady Mc. Lady Mc gets a text her neighbor saying that there is a suspicious man roaming the neighborhood searching for Mr.Macbeth

Daphne:Something is wrong. The wind is screaming outside. My husband has left me and our Daughter without any warning like a coward. Where will we go? I guess I forgot I live in a world where harm is praised and to do good makes you foolish.

Murderer enters. Approaches Lady Mc.

Murderer: Where is your husband?

Daphine: He is gone, I don’t know where he is and even if I did, I wouldn’t tell you.

Murderer: He’s a traitor. He’s nothing.

Daughter: You’re lying! My father isn’t a traitor. He wouldn’t have just left us without reason.

Murderer: What did you say runt? You’re a child. Worthless.

Murderer stabs Daughter.

Daughter: Mom run! Run!!! Save yourself!

Daphne: Murder!! Murder!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page